[Fix] Microsoft Office 2011 for Mac Copy Cut Paste

Yeah, I know Microsoft in my blog…

I am using mainly Open Source tools where I can but Microsoft Office is an application where there is no alternative that  doesn’t come with the danger of destroying a document created by Microsoft Office.

Having to translate a great amount of text from English to Greek I had to deal extensively with that tool! So I noticed that Copy, Cut and Paste keyboard shortcuts doesn’t work out of the application on Mac OS X Mountain Lion, for example to copy text from the document to google translate.

I googled around and I found this:

Go to Settings, then Keyboard and select the tab “Keyboard Shortcuts”.

Next, you go to Application Shortcuts and you press the “+” button, You select the Microsoft Office Word (or whatever Microsoft Office application you want), type the command (“Copy” or “Cut” or “Paste”) and the corresponding keyboard shortcut.

You should end up with something like this:

Screen Shot 2013-05-07 at 11.04.58 PM

 

This should work!

If you have a better solution please feel free to post it in the comments! :)

4 comments

  1. Thank you, that worked for me. Cut/copy/paste somehow stopped working during Mavericks upgrade.

  2. Michail · May 7

    Thx! Helped!

  3. Nick · May 7

    Thanks!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Justin · May 7

    I also translate extensively on my Mac, using Hindi, Urdu, and Sanskrit fonts in my browser and other applications, but only English in Word Mac, 2011. In Word, I only ever type or compose files in English, but for some reason any time I open a Word file (new or saved) the keyboard input setting on my computer always changes, and never stays on the setting for English. While changing the input language is easy with a keyboard shortcut, the change in input language seems to affect cut, copy, and paste in Word, despite your helpful blog post. The only way to avoid these issues is to delete all of my input languages on the mac (apart from English), but that is pretty inefficient because I toggle between languages very often. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

